# Communique

#### 5 July 2018

# Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health strategy group

National Boards, AHPRA and Accreditation Authorities have committed to an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health strategy (the strategy) with the vision of:

Patient safety for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples is the norm. We recognise that:

- patient safety includes the inextricably linked elements of clinical and cultural safety, and
- this link must be defined by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples.

To lead this important work, the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health strategy group (the strategy group) has been established by AHPRA's Agency Management Committee. Strategy group members include: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health sector leaders and organisations, and representatives from Accreditation Authorities, National Boards, and AHPRA.

The strategy group is co-Chaired by Associate Professor Gregory Phillips, CEO of ABSTARR Consulting and Dr Joanna Flynn AM, Chair of the Medical Board of Australia.

On 5 July 2018 the group met for the fifth time to refine components of the strategy such as the communication plan and the strategy group's terms of reference. Other topics of the discussion included the accreditation project and code of conduct review.

# Launch of the National Scheme Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Strategy Statement of Intent and the Reconciliation Action Plan

In correlation with the meeting, the National Scheme Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Strategy Statement of Intent and the Reconciliation Action Plan was launched at the Melbourne Museum.

The Statement of Intent was endorsed by 37 entities and aims to achieve equity in health outcomes between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples and other Australians by 2031 as its intent.

AHPRA first Reconciliation Action Plan (RAP) received formal endorsement from Reconciliation Australia, allowing this work to proceed with the Reflect version for the next 12 months.

#### **Decisions and actions**

- 1. With minor changes to the Terms of Reference for the strategy group, it was agreed that AHPRA would take the Terms of Reference to the AHPRA Agency Management Committee for approval.
- 2. New members received endorsement to join the working group including Craig Dukes (Australian Indigenous Doctors' Association) and Roianne West (Griffith University).
- 3. An agreed approach to communicating work of the strategy group and steps moving forward based on a draft communication plan was discussed.
- 4. With the next COAG Health Council meeting to be held in Alice Springs in August which focuses on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health outcomes, the strategy group plan to write to Chairs of the Ministerial Council informing them of the group's work, particularly the Statement of Intent.
- 5. The group agreed that it was appropriate for the caucus group to develop a definition of cultural safety, plus explanatory notes, to be used across the National Scheme
- 6. The preliminary consultation of the accreditation standards review was discussed. The Strategy Group Working Group are to provide feedback at a later date.

#### **Next steps**

Implementing the AHPRA Reconciliation Action Plan (RAP) will commence.

As part of the RAP, AHPRA will progress with releasing the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultural safety training tender.

### Next meeting

The next meeting will be held in October 2018.

## Table 1: Attendees and apologies

Attendees:	
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Health Practice Board of Australia	Renee Owen, Chair
ABSTARR Consulting	Associate Professor Gregory Phillips, CEO
Australian Indigenous Psychologists Association	Sabine Hammond, Honorary Professor of Australian Catholic University
Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency	Chris Robertson, Executive Director, Strategy and Policy
Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency	Eliza Collier, Northern Territory Manager
Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency	Jacqui Gibson-Roos, Community Reference Group member
Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency	Jill Humphreys, Executive Officer, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Health Practice
Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency	Martin Fletcher, CEO
Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency	Michael Gorton AM, Chair, Agency Management Committee
Australian Medical Council / Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum	Karin Oldfield, Company Secretary (Proxy)
Chiropractic Board of Australia	Ailsa Wood, Board member
Congress of Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives (CATSINaM)	Janine Mohamed, CEO
Griffith University	Roianne West, Foundation Professor of First Peoples Health
Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum	Narelle Mills, Member
Indigenous Allied Health Association (IAHA)	Allan Groth (Proxy), COO
Medical Board of Australia Forum of NRAS Chairs	Joanna Flynn AM, Chair
National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Worker Association (NATSIHWA)	Karl Briscoe, CEO
Occupational Therapy Board of Australia	Julie Brayshaw, Chair
Pharmacy Board of Australia	Michael Piu, Community member
Psychology Board of Australia	Marion Hale, Community member
Guests	
Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA)	Helen Townley, National Director Policy and Accreditation
Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA)	Anita Rivera, National Director Communications
Apologies:	
Australian Indigenous Psychologists' Association	Pat Dudgeon, Deputy Chair (Proxy sent)
Apunipima Cape York Health Council	Mark Wenitong, Director Medicine and Public Health
Indigenous Allied Health Association (IAHA)	Donna Murray, CEO (Proxy sent)
Inala Aboriginal Health Centre of Excellence	Noel Hayman, Clinical Director
National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO)	Pat Turner, CEO