

Decision-making bodies of the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia

Under section 36 of the National Law, National Boards can establish a State, Territory or Regional Board for a participating jurisdiction to enable the Board to exercise its functions in the jurisdiction in a way that provides an effective and timely local response to health practitioners and other persons in the jurisdiction.

Additionally, under section 37, National Boards have the power to delegate decision-making functions.

Below is a list of the State and Territory Boards and National Committees that have been established by the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA) with delegated decision-making functions:

State and Territory Boards

- Australian Capital Territory Board of the NMBA
- Northern Territory Board of the NMBA
- New South Wales Board of the NMBA
- Queensland Board of the NMBA
- South Australian Board of the NMBA
- Tasmanian Board of the NMBA
- Victorian Board of the NMBA
- Western Australian Board of the NMBA

State and Territory Committees

- **Australian Capital Territory**
 - **Registration Committee**
 - **Notifications Committee**
 - Immediate Action Committee
- Northern Territory
 - o Registration Committee
 - **Notifications Committee**
 - Immediate Action Committee
- **New South Wales**
 - Registration Committee
- Queensland
 - **Registration Committee**
 - **Notifications Committee**
 - Immediate Action Committee

- South Australia
 - o Immediate Action Committee
- Tasmania
 - o Immediate Action Committee
- Victoria
 - o Registration Committee
 - o Notifications Committee
 - o Immediate Action Committee
- Western Australia
 - Registration Committee
 - o Notifications Committee
 - o Immediate Action Committee

National Committees

- Program Approval Committee
- Notifications Committee: Nursing Assessment
- Notifications Committee: Midwifery Assessment

Information current as at 30 April 2019