

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Chinese Medicine Chiropractic Dental

Osteopathy Pharmacy Physiotherapy Podiatry Psychology

Occupational Therapy Optometry

Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency

Communique

July 2019

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Strategy Group

The strategy group is co-Chaired by Professor Gregory Phillips, CEO of ABSTARR Consulting and Ms Julie Brayshaw, Chair of the Occupational Therapy Board of Australia. This was the first meeting for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander members: Dr Hannah McGlade (Medical Board of Australia), Linda Renouf (Paramedicine Board of Australia), Dr Jessa Rogers (Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia) and Dr Lisa Whop (Community Reference Group).

The group met on 22 July 2019 at the Southern Queensland Centre of Excellence in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Primary Health Care in Inala, Queensland. Professor Noel Hayman, strategy group member and Clinical Director of the Centre of Excellence, hosted the venue and gave a personal tour of the facilities.

Members discussed:

- 1. planning the National Summit on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Workforce to be held in April 2020.
- 2. feedback from the public consultation on the definition of 'cultural safety' and process to finalisation.
- 3. feedback on the draft National Scheme's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health and Cultural Safety Strategy from National Boards and accreditation authorities, and the process to finalise draft by December 2019.
- 4. an update on the contract for cultural safety training awarded to PricewaterhouseCoopers Indigenous Consulting Pty Limited (PIC) in partnership with Griffith University's First Peoples Health Unit
- 5. aligning the Reflect Reconciliation Action Plan with the National Scheme's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health and Cultural Safety Strategy.
- 6. new membership on AHPRA's Agency Management Committee.
- 7. the draft report on the accreditation role in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health outcomes project and the Australian Dental Council consultation paper on cultural safety standards.

Next meeting

The next meeting will be held 6 December 2019, hosted by the accreditation authority in Melbourne.

Attendees

- Prof Gregory Phillips, ABSTARR Consulting (Co-chair)
- Julie Brayshaw, Occupational Therapy Board of Australia (Co-chair)
- Prof Noel Hayman, Southern Queensland Centre of Excellence
- Karl Briscoe, NATSIHWA
- Marni Tuala, CATSINaM
- Luke Taylor, Podiatry Council of NSW
- Christopher O'Brien, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Council of NSW

- Dr Sabine Hammond, Australian Indigenous Psychology Education Project (proxy for Pat Dudgeon)
- Theanne Walters, Australian Medical Council
- Dr Ailsa Wood, Chiropractic Board of Australia
- Dr Lisa Whop, AHPRA Community Reference Group (proxy for Darlene Cox)
- Jacqui Gibson-Roos, Dental Board of Australia
- Narelle Mills, Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum
- Dr Jessa Rogers, Nursing and Midwifery Boards of Australia
- Prof Roianne West, Griffith University
- Donna Murray, National Health Leadership Forum
- Linda Renouf, Paramedicine Board of Australia
- Gill McAllister PSM, Chair of Agency Management Committee
- Dr Hannah McGlade, Medical Board of Australia
- Ms Tanja Hirvonen, Australian Indigenous Psychologists Association
- Eliza Collier, AHPRA
- Jill Humphreys, AHPRA
- Chris Robertson, AHPRA
- Martin Fletcher, AHPRA
- Anita Rivera, AHPRA
- Jayde Fuller, AHPRA
- Kristin Wuruki, AHPRA

Apologies

- Renee Owen, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Practice Board of Australia
- Dawn Casey, National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation
- Dr Ngiare Brown, University of Wollongong
- Mary Guthrie, Australian Indigenous Doctors Association
- Dr Anne Tonkin, Chair of the Medical Board of Australia
- Professor Mark Wenitong, Apunipima Cape York Health Council
- Kym Ayscough, AHPRA
- Tania Dalton, Australian Indigenous Psychologists Association