Medical Board of Australia - About CPD homes
Look up a health practitioner


Check if your health practitioner is qualified, registered and their current registration status

About CPD homes

CPD homes are quality-assured and support safe practice. They:

  • provide CPD programs that are robust, monitored and evaluated
  • support doctors to tailor CPD to their learning needs
  • are accredited by the AMC
  • coordinate CPD programs, ensure quality activities and help doctors keep track of their CPD hours with a system for CPD record-keeping 
  • make sure doctors meet CPD requirements, including for:
    • culturally safe practice
    • addressing health inequities
    • professionalism and 
    • ethical practice.

All AMC-accredited specialist medical colleges will be CPD homes from January 2023. 

If you do a CPD program in an accredited college or another accredited CPD home, you will automatically meet the requirement to have a CPD home.

If you’re outside a CPD home in 2022/ 2023, keep doing self-directed CPD, as described in the 2016 CPD registration standard. Also keep an eye out for new CPD homes that offer CPD programs relevant to your scope of practice.

All doctors (unless you don’t have to do CPD) will need a CPD home by January 2024.

Accredited CPD homes

All AMC-accredited specialist medical colleges have transitioned to become CPD homes and one new CPD home has been accredited. New homes will be progressively accredited in 2023. 

Specialist medical colleges

  • Australasian College of Dermatologists (ACD)
  • Australasian College for Emergency Medicine (ACEM)
  • Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (ACRRM)
  • Australasian College of Sport and Exercise Physicians (ACSEP) 
  • Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA)
  • College of Intensive Care Medicine of Australia and New Zealand (CICM)
  • Royal Australasian College of Dental Surgeons (RACDS)
  • Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP)
  • Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators (RACMA)
  • Royal Australasian College of Physicians (RACP)
  • Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS)
  • Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (RANZCO)
  • Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (RANZCOG)
  • Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists (RANZCP)
  • Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists (RANZCR)
  • Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia (RCPA)

New CPD home

  • Doctorportal Learning

Information for prospective CPD homes

Prospective new CPD homes can find out more here about the 2023 application process.

As new CPD homes are accredited they will be published on this page.

Page reviewed 20/01/2023